To Comprehend, Or Not To Comprehend: Anirban Mukherjee

• Content & PR team - MBAtious

Anirban Mukherjee is a dual degree holder in Economics and Computer Science from BITS Pilani. He graduated in 2014 and has been working in Oracle ST as a software developer. He scored 99.53 in CAT 2015 and got calls from all old IIMs and will be joining IIM Calcutta for its 2016-18 batch. Anirban is a debating enthusiast on socioeconomic issues and politics and a self confessed foodie, movie buff and music lover.

I am no expert at cracking the Indian middle class gateway to management stardom known as CAT, but having scored a decent percentile this time by the sake of which I have managed to gain admission into IIM Calcutta, I feel worthy enough to write this article. While preparing for it, I had used the general resources that everyone does: coaching institute material, AIMCATS , SIMCATS, and Pagalguy fundae. One common thing that I had noticed in discussion forums is that the emphasis on the verbal part of the test is very less as compared to the amount of dialogue that takes place regarding quant and DI. People are regularly discussing about how to find the remainder of 123^75^100 when divided by 99 (which btw has less than 10^-9 % probability of coming in CAT, and an even lesser chance of you getting it right during the exam, so you might as well concentrate on boring profit and loss sums), but minimal discussion takes place about gaining an upper hand in the verbal section.

I managed to get my CAT percentile (99.53) with strong help from my verbal section (99.67), followed by Quant (98.3) and DI (97.15). The major chunk of the verbal section in CAT 2015 rested on testing reading comprehension skills, which was about 24 out of the 34 questions or nearly 71%. My article thus mentions some of the strategies one can use to ace any reading comprehension passage.