What I learned while 'starting up' - Ranjeet Pratap Singh, FMS Delhi

• Content & PR team - MBAtious

Ranjeet Pratap Singh holds a Bachelors degree in Computer Science and Engineering from KIIT University, Bhubaneswar and an MBA from FMS, Delhi. Ranjeet is the Co-Founder and CEO of Pratilipi, a self-publishing platform for authors in all Indian Languages and a discovery and reading platform for readers worldwide. Prior to Pratilipi, he worked at Vodafone and Citibank. He is a member of MENSA international and holds 30+ certifications from Harvard University. Ranjeet was awarded  ‘Bharti Scholarship’ and ‘TMI Scholarship’ during his MBA. He is passionate about decreasing poverty through meaningful education. He is 2015 Fellow in the Startup Leadership Program in Bangalore.

Background: I come from a very small village in Rae Bareli district of Uttar Pradesh. I am the first engineer in my village(and probably in nearby 50-60 villages). I have an MBA from FMS-Delhi, one of the best Business Schools in the country, and till exactly 7 months back I was among the top 1% highest earning individuals in my neighbourhood. I left my job because I didn't think I was contributing enough to the society at large/I didn't feel challenged enough/I wanted to work with the smartest people I could. I went around a country trip for a couple of months, met loads of people both friends and the 'start-up junta' and finally zeroed in on a business plan and a location. This background is important to drive the point that it was tough to convince my family to leave my 'cushy' job and do something so 'odd and risky'.

How it all Began: I am a voracious reader and I love reading Hindi literature just as much as I love reading English literature, but unfortunately I couldn't find enough good quality Hindi literature to read.